4 03 2004

Oh, and anything by Diane Warren will also result in your death. Except Rhythm of the night… — Lorne

If that doesn’t make sense to you, don’t worry about it. If it does, you know why I think Joss Whedon should write and direct for his own shows EVERY WEEK!

I’m in the back of the touring bus, bouncing down the road outside of Pensacola Florida. I have a few stories to tell.

First of all, we’ve had a cast change. Tyrone went back to New York – he’s been getting lots of call backs there. Aljernon DuVall is his replacement, and he’s great! A good leader and mentor for many of us…

Last week, we went to a small little place in Rochester, and a singer-songwriter was playing old school acoustic covers. Nancy, the bass player, was surprised that I knew all the words to ALL the songs he did… then laughed harder when I got up and did a couple of songs with him! He’s a decent guitar player too…

Being on a tour bus is an interesting experience. This is the “bus” portion of the bus-and-truck setup. It’s a lot like having a big family and having to negotiate things like meal times and bathroom use and showers between individual lifestyles. At some point, I’m sure I’ll convince everyone NOT to talk to me first thing in the morning. At the moment, I’m getting lots of questions I can’t answer like “what are you doing?” “Where are you going?” “What are your plans?” First thing in the morning, those questions are like “What is the particle density of orange juice?” to me…

The first night on the bus was interesting. I have the lower bunk, which means a foam pad on the floor of the bus. The pillows were kinda dusty, so my head filled right away and I snored like a bandit. (Bought a new pillow the next day.) The bunk itself is small – it’s just long enough for me to fit, but I can’t actually get up, or sit up, or even lean on one elbow.

We spent the day Tuesday in Bruton, Ala. It’s a smallish town with absolutely no cell phone service. We played at the Jefferson Davis Community College, and it seems so quiet here, nothing like my memory of community college in Harrisburg! We had all kinds of time to kill today, but couldn’t really go anywhere and do anything…..So we walked a lot. Up the hill. Down the hill. Up the hill again. Then we did the show. It was a tough crowd, filled with lots of really young children, and the show is a bit more adult than that. And there was a weird echo on the stage so you couldn’t be certain you were following the actual music or one of the three echos of the music slapping back onto the stage. But we made it through somehow and did a fine job….

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

